Norman Florence was elected as chief for Chawathil First Nation on Sept. 13. (Courtenay Miller/bcwfbogblog)

Norman Florence voted-in as new chief of Chawathil First Nation

Chawathil has a new chief and six new council members as of Sept. 13

Norman Florence is the new chief of Chawathil First Nation.

The new chief, who was elected Wednesday evening (Sept. 13), beat out four other candidates running for the position. Florence will be chief for the next three years and takes over from, the soon-to-be former chief, Rhoda Peters.

Six council hopefuls were also elected on Wednesday to be on Chawathil’s council: Monica Florence, Audrey George, Kelsey John, Aaron Pete, Timothy Peters, and Rhoda Peters. They will also serve for three years.

Currently, there are 600 members for Chawathil, which is located near Hope, and an election is held every three years to elect a new chief and council. For this election, band members were able to vote in-person at the Chawathil band house or vote online at

READ MORE: Aaron Pete running for Chief of Chawathil First Nation in September election


Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Breaking NewselectionElection 2022Indigenous