Contenders for Hope, regional district and school district announced

Contenders for Hope, regional district and school district announced

Wilfried Vicktor running for Mayor and trustee, two youth could join school board and more

Candidates running in the Oct. 20 District of Hope, the Fraser Valley Regional District (FVRD) and Fraser-Cascade School District elections have been announced.

READ MORE: 2018 election coverage for Hope and area

Three candidates have put their names forward for the Hope mayor’s seat: incumbent Wildfried Vicktor as well as Peter Robb and Cindy Young. Vicktor is also running for a seat as a school district trustee.

There are 13 candidates vying for the six seats on council, including five of the six current councillors. Bob Erickson, Donna Kropp, Scott Medlock, Dusty Smith and Heather Stewin are running, Gerry Dyble is the only current councillor not running for re-election.

READ MORE: Race for Hope Mayor starts early

The FVRD’s electoral area A, a region with 551 residents including the towns of Boston Bar and North Bend, has incumbent Terry Raymond running against Lloyd Forman. Area B, with a population of 1,495 including the Lower Fraser Canyon communities of Yale, Dogwood Valley and Spuzzum as well as Ruby Creek and Sunshine Valley, has three contenders for the director’s seat: Dennis Adamson, current director, Peter Adamo and Matthew T. Steberl.

READ MORE: Mayor Wilfried Vicktor seeks re-election

Five of the seven trustees in the Fraser-Cascade School District are running for re-election, which will elect three trustees from Agassiz-Harrison, three from Hope and one from the Fraser Canyon.

Trustee Tom Hendrikson is the only trustee running for the Canyon area. In Hope all three current trustees are running for re-election — Linda Kerr, John Koopman and Heather Stewin. They are joined by three other candidates, including Hope Mayor Wildfried Vicktor.

In Agassiz only Ron Johnstone is running for re-election, Cindy Ferguson and Rose Tustian are not listed as candidates on the FVRD website.

Tustian announced her decision not to run at a public board meeting in May, citing a ‘lack of transparency and a disrespectful workplace’. Her statement was rebuffed by board chair Linda Kerr, who stated in an email that Tustian had not provided proof of these claims to the public.

READ MORE: Tustian announces she won’t seek re-election after turbulent times on SD78 board

The announcement came after a turbulent term in office for Tustian which included the board censuring her twice. She was also the signatory of a 2017 letter, together with trustees Stewin and Ferguson, to the then Minister of Education Mike Bernier requesting a review of SD78’s governance. The letter called the school board ‘severly dysfunctional’ and alleged the other trustees consistently undermined them by voting against them.

Two young people are shaking up the Agassiz Harrison trustee race —Emma Potts, 18, and Frances Oliver, 19. Both candidates have an experience of alternative and mainstream schooling, their biographies on the FVRD website state.


Candidate Lists:

Note: The incumbents, those holding the seats currently, are bolded

District of Hope

Mayoral candidates:

Peter Robb, Hope BC

Wilfried Vicktor, Hope BC

Cindy Young, Hope BC

Candidates for council:

John Duff, Hope BC

Bob Erickson, Hope BC

Sharlene Hinds, Hope BC

Donna Kropp, Hope BC

Scott Medlock, Hope BC

Steven Patterson, Hope BC

(Dusty) Dustin Smith, Hope BC

Victor Smith, Hope BC

(Matt T.) Matthew Steberl, Hope BC

Heather Stewin, Hope BC

Paul Stock, Hope BC

Craig Traun, Hope BC

Sung Yun Wong, Surrey BC

Fraser Valley Regional District

Candidates for Electoral area A director:

Terry Raymond

Lloyd Forman

Candidates for Electoral area B director:

Dennis Adamson

Peter Adamo

Matthew T. Steberl

School District 78- Fraser Cascade

Agassiz-Harrison candidates:

Wendy Colman Lawley

Brittany Ekelund

Ron Johnstone

Frances Oliver

Emma Potts

Lesley Ward

Marilyn Warren

Canyon candidates:

Tom Hendrickson

Hope candidates:

Lori Izawa

Linda Kerr

John Koopman

Gary Lewis

Heather Stewin

Wilfried Vicktor

The Hope Standard will be covering local angles on each of these three elections leading up to the Oct. 20 vote. To read all election coverage in one place, visit

Is there more to this story?

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter