Premier John Horgan has called a snap election, to be held on Oct. 24. (Progress file photo)

Premier John Horgan has called a snap election, to be held on Oct. 24. (Progress file photo)

No confirmed candidates in either Chilliwack riding for snap election

Both ridings went to BC Liberals in 2017 but no candidates announced on day election is called

With a snap election called by Premier John Horgan for Oct. 24, the scramble is on to fill the ballots with candidates.

In Chilliwack and Chilliwack-Kent, the riding seats for MLA are filled by Liberals John Martin and Laurie Throness respectively. However, the B.C. Liberal Party has yet to formally announce if the current MLAs will be running for re-election. Diane Janzen has been working to garner support from local Liberals for the Chilliwack riding, but there would need to be a nomination meeting, which has not been set.

READ MORE: Diane Janzen announces bid to seek the BC Liberal nomination in Chilliwack

The NDP do not have confirmed candidates for either riding at this time, either, the party confirmed to The Progress on Monday afternoon. Patti Macahonic ran for the party in 2017, earning 32 per cent of the vote in Chilliwack-Kent. But she has confirmed to The Progress she will not be running again.

Throness won the seat with nearly 53 per cent. Josie Bleuer ran for the Green Party in that election and earned almost 15 per cent of the vote.

For the Chilliwack riding, Martin won the seat with 48 per cent of the votes in 2017. Tracey O’Hara, NDP, earned 32 per cent of the vote. Wayne Froese ran for the Green Party earning 17 per cent, and Ryan McKinnon ran as an independent, earning two per cent.

READ MORE: Citing stability, B.C. Premier calls snap election for Oct. 24


Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Want to support local journalism during the pandemic? Make a donation here.

BC politicsBC Votes 2020Election 2020