Chilliwack Chiefs Jackson Munro and Sasha Teleguine win BCHL pod awards

The BCHL announced the winners of individual awards in the three-team Chilliwack pod

The top two teams in the Chilliwack pod split the season-ending awards, while the third place Merritt Centennials were shut out.

The host Chilliwack Chiefs claimed two honours as the BCHL announced the winners May 18. Recipients were selected through a poll of the pod’s coaches and broadcasters.

Jackson Munro was named the top defenceman after producing four goals and 12 points in 20 games with stellar two-way play. Playing his final season of junior A hockey, Munro suited up for all 20 of Chilliwack’s games, providing a steady veteran presence on the blueline.

After spending time with the Merritt Centennials and Alberni Valley Bulldogs, the 21-year-old Vancouverite wraps up his BCHL career having played 164 career regular season games, amassing 77 points. He is committed to Brown University next year.

RELATED: Chilliwack Chief Sasha Teleguine breaks the ice with first BCHL goal

RELATED: Ethan Bowen named MVP as Chilliwack Chiefs hand out year-end awards

Sasha Teleguine was a unanimous choice as top rookie in the pod, the only unanimous choice out of all the pod winners. The Massachusetts kid tallied four goals and 18 points in 20 games to lead all first-year players. Teleguine was mostly a setup man, with 14 of his 18 points coming via assists. The 18-year-old was consistent all year, but caught fire down the stretch, registering at least one point in eight of Chilliwack’s final nine contests. Teleguine is eligible to be picked in the 2021 National Hockey League entry draft in July and has been rated a potential mid-rounder by the NHL’s Central Scouting Bureau.

Chilliwack finished second in the three-team pod with a record of 13-7-0-0 and 26 points. The Prince George Spruce Kings finished first with a record of 14-5-0-1 and 29 points, with Aaron Trotter taking the top goaltender award and Christian Buono being named the pod’s MVP.

Buono was the pod’s top scorer with 27 points.


Like us on

BCHLChilliwack Chiefs