Emory Creek was once the location of a bustling mining camp and frontier town. In 1858, more than 25,000 men travelled into the Fraser Canyon hoping to stake their gold claim and strike it rich. Just across the river from Emory Creek is the famous Hill’s Bar — the gold find that sparked the Fraser River Gold Rush. Five hundred men are believed to have camped at Emory Bar and although a considerable amount of gold was found, the mother lode was never discovered and the camp faded away.
In the fall of 1879, Emory City came to life again as the western terminus for the Canadian Pacific Railway. The city quickly grew to 13 streets, 400 homes and businesses. Emory City was even home to the Inland Sentinel newspaper, the first newspaper on the mainland. Sawmills, hotels, saloons, a brewery, a general store, and a few less reputable businesses also helped build the new city’s economy. By 1881 the CPR looked to Yale, just five kilometers upstream, as its new western base and Emory City faded again into the past.
Today travellers can explore the history of Emory Creek and the Gold Rush at the Hope River General Store. Discover the nearby workings of the Chinese miners, the restored railway caboose and take a peaceful stroll along part of the historic Cariboo Wagon Road. Emory Creek also offers great hiking, fishing and camping opportunities.