Skip to content

Chilliwack Chiefs alum Joey Potskin makes BCHL 60th anniversary team

Potskin was an electrifying player for the Chiefs during the team’s first season in 1990-91
Joey Potskin, seen here during the 1990-91 BCHL season, is the lone Chilliwack Chiefs rep on the league’s 60th anniversary team. (Chilliwack Progress archives)

An all-time Chilliwack Chiefs great has landed a spot on the BCHL’s 60th anniversary team.

The junior A league released a roster of 12 forwards, six defencemen and two goaltenders on Tuesday (April 12, 2022). Among the forwards is Joey Potskin, who played for the Chiefs during the team’s first season in 1990-91.

The Prince George product led Chilliwack in goals (60) and points (146) during that 57 game campaign, forming a devastating one-two punch with winger Marc Gagnon (60-56-89-145).

Potskin added another 16 points in 12 playoff games that season.

“Joey was an electrifying player to watch who had fans on their feet every time he was on the ice,” said Chiefs president Barry Douglas, who counts himself lucky to have watched Potskin play live at the old Chilliwack Coliseum. “He was a real fierce competitor and one of the Chiefs initial superstars.”

RELATED: BCHL pushes 60th Anniversary in Penticton to 2023

RELATED: Overcoming COVID-19, other barriers ‘a wild ride’ says BCHL commissioner

According to a BCHL news release, the 60th anniversary team was selected by a panel of three experts, BCHL official historian Fred Hume, managing editor and creator of the BCHL Network website Brian Wiebe and Paul Beugeling, creator of, a site dedicated to the history of the BCHL and the Vernon Vipers franchise.

Each of them submitted a list of forwards, defencemen and goalies and the three were combined to determine one team. Tiebreakers were decided by the BCHL office.

Players were judged solely on their BCHL careers and not what they went on to do afterwards.

The other 11 forwards are Shane Russ (Surrey Eagles, 1993-97), Brett Hull (Penticton Knights (1982-84), Gordie McKay (Penticton Broncos/Vees, 1973-77), Paul Kariya (Penticton Panthers, 1990-92), John Newberry (Nanaimo Clippers, 1979-80), Kyle Greentree (Victoria Salsa, 1999-04), Robb Gordon (Powell River Kings, 1992-94), John McNabb (South Surrey Eagles, 1997-99), Wayne Dye (Vernon Essos, 1967-72), Kyle Turris (Burnaby Express, 2005-07) and Alex Newhook (Victoria Grizzlies, 2017-19).

The defencemen are Campbell Blair (Shuswap Totems/Summerland Buckaroos/Vernon Lakers, 1983-87), Ian Kidd (Penticton Knights, 1983-85), Tom Serviss (Vernon Essos, 1967-68), Scott Frizzell (Delta Flyers/Powell River Paper Kings, 1987-89), Mike Reilly (Penticton Vees, 2011-12) and Dante Fabbro (Penticton Vees, 2014-16).

The goaltenders are Michael Garteig (Powell River Kings/Penticton Vees, 2009-12) and Hunter Miska (Penticton Vees, 2013-15).


Like us on

Eric Welsh

About the Author: Eric Welsh

I joined the Chilliwack Progress in 2007, originally hired as a sports reporter.
Read more